Quick Links

Quick Links

Hawthorn Park Community Primary School

Local Governing Body

Local Governing Body

The Governing Body, has responsibility for the school’s overall strategic direction.

The current Local Governing Body (LGB) is comprised of volunteers from the local school community.Governing Body meetings are held at several points throughout the school year. LGB meetings outline key issues that are required to be discussed and reviewed as necessary. Examples of these agenda items are, but not limited to; Attendance, Admissions, Achievements & Standards, Behaviour & Safety (Safeguarding), Finance, Leadership & Management and Quality of Teaching & Learning.

Attendance at these meetings is monitored by Trust staff from the TLC.

The Governors:

  • Make sure the school provides for all its pupils, including those with special needs,

  • Formulate the aims and policies of the school in collaboration with the TLC Trust,

  • Ensure that the National Curriculum is taught,

  • Support Interviews and appoint key members of staff.

Committees Groups:

  • Curriculum, Standards & Pupil Welfare Committee
  • General Purpose Committee
  • Finance, Risk and Audit Committee

Structure of the Governing Body

The Lime Tree Primary Academy Local Governing Body consists of the follow members:

Mrs Julia Babiak - Chair of Governors 

Mr Asim Syed - Vice Chair

Mrs Julia Turner

Mrs Gillian Greenlees

Mrs Sue Thorne

Mr Jimmy Carroll

Ms Antonia Ryan

Mrs Catherine Stormonth - Trustee

Mrs Sarah Vince - Staff Governor

Ms Clare Lewis - Interim Head of School


*Invited Staff

*Tracy Ison- Assistant Head (Personal Development)


Governors (ID 1281)

  • Julia Babiak
    Chair of Governors - Local Governing Body
  • Asim Syed
    Vice-Chair of Governors
  • Julia Turner
    Safeguarding Governor


Structure & Remit

Name Appointment Other Responsibilities and Subject Links Term of Office Relevant interests Inc. business, financial, other governments roles and relationships within the school staff
Mrs Julia Babiak 


(Reappointment by Board)

- Curriculum Standards and Welfare Chair

- General Purpose & Finance

- Science


- Pupil Premium

December 2022 - November 2026  Vice Chair of Newfield Primary School (London).
Mr Asim Syed

Vice Chair & Parent Governor


- General Purpose and Finance Chair

- Curriculum Standards

- Computing/IT

- Website

Sept 2021 - Sept 2025 Parent
Mrs Julia Turner  Co-Opted 

- Curriculum & Standards

- General Pupose & Finance

-Safeguarding Governor


Sept 2021 - Sept 2025   
Mrs Rachael Clark  Clerk to the Governors  Feb 2020 - Jan 2024   
Mrs Gillian Greenlees

Parent Governor


- Curriuclum & Standards

- English

- PE

- Music

Sept 2021 - Sept 2025 Parent
Mrs Sue Thorne Co-Opted

- Maths

- RE

- Art

Dec 2022 - Dec 2026 
Mr Jimmy Carroll Co-Opted

- Curriculum & Standards

- General Pupose & Finance

- Health & Safety

- History

- Geography


Dec 2022 - Dec 2026  Mayor -  Houghton Regis Town Council
Ms Antonia Ryan Co-Opted Dec 2022 - Dec 2026  Local Councillor for Parkside Ward
Sarah Vince  Staff Governor 

-  Behaviour and Attitudes


- Student Voice

Curriculum & Standards

- H&S Governor

July 2020 - June 2024   
Clare Lewis Interim Head of School Strategy, Operational Management and, Curriculum & Standards, and General Purpose & Finance By Appointment of Office






Tracy Ison Assistant  Headteacher

Personal Development 

- Attendance

- Literacy




Governor Attendance:

Historic information: